Schedule People: Filter Walkthrough

In this article we will be showing you how to navigate and better use the filter in the view on Forecast's Schedule feature.

Time to read: 3 minutes

Main takeaways

  • Learn how to use the advanced filter (People, Projects, Tasks) on the Schedule People
  • Learn how to save your filter

Step 1: Click on the filter icon in the top right corner of the page

 

Step 2: The filter will slide out at the right side of your screen.

 

Step 3: Select the property that you want to filter on, open the corresponding drop-down menu and choose the characteristic that you want to filter for.

You can repeat this and filter for more than one property at the same time.

The advanced filter has 3 advanced filters:

  • Projects
  • People
  • Tasks

Once you click on Filter, you will have the possibility to expand on "Advanced Filters".

 

FILTER YOUR VIEW: PEOPLE 

The People filter will affect your team member's visualization on the left hand side. Your team members view will always be adjusted depending on what Role, People or Team you have selected. 

PETER GIF

When you choose to Filter People that are in the project team of the selected project, you can filter by

1: Project: Select the project(s) of your choice

2: People: Choose the team member you want to see

3: Team: Select one of the team you created

4: Role: Select a role

5: Permissions: Virtual, Collaborator, Manager, Controller, Admin

6: Workload: Overbooked, Underbooked, Fully booked, Booked, No workload

7: Label: Filter on people that has a specific label/ skilled assigned to them

8: Internal Time: Filter on people that assigned  Internal time (Meetings, Trainings, Workshop Prep)

9: Time off: Filter on people that assigned to Time off

If you select a team such a Project Manager Team for example, your team members will be adjusted on the left hand side of your screen, and the people list will only show the people which have “Project Manager” team. The other team members won’t be visible anymore.

 

FILTER YOUR VIEW: PROJECTS 

When you choose to Filter Projects, you can filter by

1: Client: Select the client of your choice

2: Budget Type: Time & Materials, Retainer, Fixed price, Non-billable 

3: People: Choose the team member you want to see

4: Project stage: Planning, Running, Halted, Done

5: Project status: Red, Yellow, Green

6: Project owners

7: Label: Filter on projects that has a specific label/ skilled assigned to them

8: Internal Time: Filter on projects that assigned  Internal time (Meetings, Trainings, Workshop Prep)

9: Time off: Filter on projects that assigned  Time off (Child sickness, Maternity…)

 

 

The Project filter will affect your project's visualization for every team member, inside the schedule in the right side. It will always be adjusted depending on what filter you have selected. 

FILTER YOUR VIEW: TASKS 

  • You will only be able to filter by tasks when in task allocation

When you choose to Filter Tasks, you can filter by

1: Role: Select a role

2: Workflow: To do, In Progress, Done

3: Marked as: Blocked, Bugs, High priority..

4: Owner: Task owner is the person responsible for overseeing the task through to completion. Sometimes these task owners can be the manager of the project and they assign tasks to assignees (designers, developers, etc.) to execute the work. 

5: Follower: Task followers are those who can potentially collaborate on a task, but mainly would just like to keep up to date on any updates to said task. Followers receive notifications on task updates and comments.

6: Recent Activity: Today, Past 7 days, Last month

7: Label: Filter on tasks that has a specific label/ skilled assigned to them

The Projects filter and the Tasks filter affect what you see inside of the heatmap and not in the team members views.

If you select “Workflow” for example, then, the unassigned tasks will be affected depending on what you choose. 

 

The Tasks filter will affect your unassigned  task's visualization on the top left hand side and inside the schedule. It will always be adjusted depending on what filter you have selected.

 

SAVE YOUR REGULARLY USED FILTERS 

Step 1: After you applied the filter as described above you can save the applied filter with the green save button.

PPL

Step 2: Type in a name for your filter and press enter to save the name. You saved filter appears on top of the filter slide out.

my team

Step 3: You can rename or delete the saved filter by clicking on the three dots next to the filter name. If you have more than 3 saved filters you can also mark you favorite filters to be shown in the easy access option.

MY TEAM copy

Step 4: To quickly access your saved filters you don't have to open the filter slide out, you can find your saved filters by clicking on the arrow next to the filter button.

2-2

 

 

Related Articles:

Schedule: People View Walkthrough

Schedule: Project View Walkthrough

Navigating: Schedule